An SR-22 is a certificate that your auto insurance company files with the California DMV. It’s not an insurance policy. It’s a certificate that tells the DMV you have the minimum insurance coverage required by California law.
A court conviction or DMV finding that you were driving under the influence (DUI) is one of a handful of reasons that the DMV would require you to provide an SR-22 certificate. In fact, if your driver's' license is suspended or revoked due to a DUI, an SR-22 is just one of several things you’ll need to get back on the road. In addition to requiring proof of an SR-22 for three years, a DUI will result in you having to complete a specific driver safety course and install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle. The certificate can cost anywhere from $300 to $800 and, just like standard auto insurance, varies based on things like your driving history, location, and age.
DUI cases are unique. DUI is a crime, so it involves the criminal justice system. But, because it’s a driving offense, the DMV gets involved too. Before contacting your insurance company about an SR-22 certificate, call the Law Office of Amy R. Schroder for a free 30-minute consultation. With all the ins and outs of a DUI case and the potential for missteps, it’s important to place your trust in a lawyer with dedication to every case.